Virginia Reckless Driving Laws

Reckless Driving is a general term for certain types of traffic violations that are considered to endanger yourself, others or property. It is a treated as a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia. Like all Class 1 Misdemeanors, it is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

The most common type of Reckless Driving violation is Reckless Driving by Speed. This means you were traveling 20 mph or more over the speed limit, or simply 80 mph or greater.

The outcome of your case will depend on a number of factors.  These factors include your speed, your interaction with the police officer and your driving history.  In order to obtain the best outcome it is important for an attorney to be patient but also ready to go to trial if needed. An attorney may offer a plea to a reduced charge or a wait for a ruling by the judge.

If you have been charged with reckless driving, please call Petrovich & Walsh, PLC, to schedule a free ½ hour consultation. Our experienced lawyers will discuss the best way to achieve a more favorable result in your case.